Cobb Chamber of Commerce

Chamber Information



Date ArticleType
4/16/2021 Education
Cobb Chamber Honors Top Technical Students

In partnership with Chattahoochee Technical College, the Cobb Chamber announced the finalists and winner of the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) at a special virtual ceremony this morning. These individuals represent the high caliber of students who attend Chattahoochee Technical College, and will advance to the state level of the GOAL competition. Congratulations to the 2021 GOAL winner Dustin Ferguson, a student in the Chattahoochee Tech Associate of Science in Nursing program. The top student finalists for the 2021 GOAL award at Chattahoochee Tech included Dennis Hoffman, a Technical Specialist student; Samantha Vernon, a Practical Nursing student; and Sarah Woodward, a Physical Therapist Assistant student.

The GOAL program was initiated in 1971 to recognize academic success and personal achievement performed by Georgia’s technical students and is a statewide initiative sponsored by the Georgia Department of Technical and Adult Education. Four finalists are chosen from each technical college in Georgia, and one is selected as the winner to compete at the state level. The Cobb Chamber has been the proud local sponsor of GOAL since 1984. Each finalist and winner receives a scholarship.

The four scholarship recipients were chosen after a series of recommendations and interviews. Of these four finalists, Dustin Ferguson was chosen to represent Chattahoochee Technical College at the consortia-level GOAL competition. Ferguson was nominated for this honor by Nursing Instructor Casaundra Wyatt. The winner of the state competition receives a new car and serves as the state ambassador of technical education.

Thank you to our sponsors for making these scholarships possible: Assured Comfort Heating-Air-Plumbing, the Braves Development Company, Cobb EMC, Geo-Hydro Engineers, LIFE University, Lockheed Martin, and North Georgia Staffing.

For more information about the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) and sponsorship, contact Stephanie Cox, Existing Industry & Investor Relations Director, at or 770-859-2337.