Cobb Chamber of Commerce

Economic Development

Existing Business Resources

Our experts are available to help businesses on a daily basis, regardless of the company’s size, needs or timeframe. Through strong partnerships, each business in Cobb will have a distinct support team in place for unparalleled service.

The business retention and expansion team consists of several different community and state organizations that are committed to strengthening and expanding our existing industries. Our goal is to provide the necessary services, information solutions and contacts to facilitate industry success and growth. Our team works to facilitate business partnerships with local educational institutions in order to strengthen our current and future workforce. We encourage companies to contact our team and explore opportunities for growth.

Workforce Development Training

CobbWorks
John Helton
President & CEO
jhelton@cobbworks.org
770-528-4300

  • Career services
  • Job market services
  • Training assistance
  • Cobb Literacy Council
  • Youth career advancement

Chattahoochee Technical College
Rex Bishop
Economic Development
rex.bishop@chattahoocheetech.edu
770-528-4512

 

Georgia Department of Economic Development
Lindsay Martin
Regional Project Manager
lmartin@georgia.org
404-831-0944

  • Georgia incentives for new and existing companies
  • Competitive market data research and supplier match program
  • International business connections and export assistance
  • Access to capital and state grants
  • Connection to Georgia Centers of Innovation

 

Georgia Department of Labor
Elizabeth Scott
Regional Coordinator, Region 3N
elizabeth.scott@gdol.ga.gov
404-859-8907

  • Job fairs
  • Applicant screening
  • Federal worker grants
  • Special worker populations access
  • Wage/labor information
  • Job order listing

 

Georgia Tech Enterprise Innovation Institute
Bill Ritsch
Region Manager
bill.ritsch@innovate.gatech.edu
678-294-1579

  • Advanced technology development center
  • Community innovation services
  • Georgia Manufacturing Extension partnership
  • Strategic partners office
  • Program in Science, Technology, and Innovation policy
  • Southeastern Trade Adjustment Assistance Center

 

QuickStart
Rodger Brown
Executive Director
rbrown@georgiaquickstart.org
404-253-2815

  • Comprehensive start-up training design and instruction for new companies focusing on jobs specific technology transfer
  • Comprehensive training for expanding companies with job growth
  • Targeted training in new technologies for existing companies

Local Existing Business Support

Cobb Chamber
Brooks Mathis
Vice President of Economic Development
bmathis@cobbchamber.org
770-859-2358

  • Community business issues
  • State legislative actions
  • Workforce development coordination
  • Research resources
  • Business networking
  • Local connection with government and other organizations

 

Cobb County Economic Development
Michael Hughes
Director, Office of Economic Development
mhhughes@cobbcounty.org
770-528-2607

 

Development Authority of Cobb County
Nelson Geter
Executive Director Economic Development
ngeter@cobbchamber.org
770-859-2342

  • Local demographics and incentives
  • Bond financing

Utilities

Acworth Power
Rusty Blackwood
Director of Power
rblackwood@acworth.org
770-917-8903

 

Atlanta Gas Light
Jodie Huiet
Manager, Community Relations and Economic Development
jhuiet@aglresources.com
404-584-3950

 

Cobb EMC
Mark Goddard
mark.goddard@cobbemc.com
678-355-3109

 

Electric Cities of Georgia
Lonnie Smallwood
Business Development Associate
lsmallwood@locationgeorgia.com
678-202-3053

  • Community profiles
  • Property search
  • Resources including: Georgia maps, incentives, transportation, training, taxes, education and utilities

 

Gas South
Sandy Miller
Senior Vice President and CFO
sandy.miller@gas-south.com
770-763-4652

 

Georgia Power Company
David Stewart
Regional Manager
dstewart@southernco.com
770-618-5151

 

Marietta Power & Water
Heidi Isom
Business Development
hisom@mariettaga.gov
770-794-5183