Cobb Chamber of Commerce

Member Services

Next Generation Award

Cobb Young Professionals recognizes the county's top young professionals with the annual Next Generation Award. Award winners are selected from a pool of nominees who can be admired, learned from and celebrated within the Cobb community. Nominees are all in their 20s or 30s, active within their community, demonstrate leadership ability in the community and in their current role, and offer a unique perspective. Two winners of the Next Generation Award are named each year.

Presented by:


2017 Next Generation Award Winners

Steven Ellis, Assistant Solicitor General, Cobb County Solicitors Office

As an assistant solicitor general, he gets high marks from defense attorneys for being fair-minded, even handed and always seeking justice.  He volunteers to work on the Cobb County State Court Behavioral Health Court as the representative from the Solicitor General's Office.  His desire to work with people to better themselves is extraordinary.

Ellis is the President of the Board of Sober Streets, President of Kennesaw State University Alumni Association and the Political Science Advisory board. Working in the non-profit arena has been a passion of Ellis’, also working with the Corrigan Care Center, Marietta Visitor's Bureau, liveSAFE Resources and Cobb Young Professionals. He is currently a part-time professor of political science at Kennesaw State University.

Leslie O’Neal, Attorney, O’Dell & O’Neal Attorneys

O’Neal has been named one of Georgia’s Super Lawyers Rising Stars by Atlanta Magazine in 2014 and 2015 and was named as a Top 20 under 40 Rising Star by Cobb Life Magazine in 2014. She is an active member of the Georgia Bar Association, Cobb County Bar Association, Cobb County Bar Association Family Law Division, Cobb County Bar Association Young Lawyers Division, and the Atlanta Bar Association Family Law Division. 

O’Neal makes it a priority to serve her community in a variety of ways. She serves as a New Member Ambassador for the Cobb County Bar Association, is a member of the Steering Committee for Cobb Executive Women, served as former chairwoman for Cobb Young Professionals in 2015, graduated from the Leadership Cobb Class of 2014, and was a member of the 2016 Honorary Commanders Class.