Cobb Chamber of Commerce

Member Services


Since 1971, the Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) has honored the outstanding technical education students of Georgia. The GOAL Program at Chattahoochee Technical College recently had the opportunity to award four scholarships to the top students with support from local sponsor, the Cobb Chamber of Commerce, on April 11.

The four scholarship recipients were chosen after a series of recommendations and interviews. Of these four finalists, one student was chosen to represent Chattahoochee Technical College at the consortia-level GOAL competition. Each consortia chooses two students to move on to the state GOAL competition, and the state GOAL winner receives a new car and serves as the state of Georgia ambassador of technical education.

These students were honored at the 2016 April First Monday Breakfast for their hard work and outstanding achievement in the GOAL program.

Congratulations to the following:

2016 GOAL Winner: Jourdan Ortiz, Speech program, nominated by instructor Shari Szalwinski

Skyler Banks, Culinary Arts program, nominated by instructor Hillary Gallagher
Allie Heeter, Marketing Management program, nominated by instructor Richard Nelson
Jewell Lucien, Licensed Practical Nurse program, nominated by instructor Shannon Ferdarko
Claire Maston, Early Childhood Care and Education program, nominated by instructor Frances Carlson
Yasimar Parrilla, Clinical Laboratory Technology program, nominated by instructor Robin Aiken


Thank you to our 2016 sponsors:

Cobb EMC
Construction Education Foundation of Georgia (CEFGA)
Holder Construction
Lockheed Martin
North Georgia Staffing


To learn more about this program or to become a sponsor, please contact Rob Garcia III at 770-859-2349 or